Vegetarian – Day 3

Day three was a very productive day. I had class, I ate vegetarian (of course) and I did a couple different workouts. I started with cardio, did strength training for my arms, and finished off with a core workout. That workout, unlike the previous one I had in the week, made me feel more aware of myself. I know that sounds weird, but I felt like I was more focused on the tasks I was putting in front of my self and I was executing them with precision.

Breakfast was the normal scrambled eggs with cheese, salsa, and chives. I also ate a banana, grapes, whole grain apple pancakes and syrup. The University of Iowa has a handy-dandy labeling system where they have a badge for every food. Whether it contains dairy for lactose intolerant individuals or if it contains no animal products for the vegans. I also have been checking out the HawkTools app for all the menus to see what is specifically vegetarian friendly. Which helps when I get to the dining hall because I don’t want to feel like I don’t know what I am doing. I don’t want to feel like I am studying the name cards for food. I just want to look at it see what the food is, grab the food and go.

I was a little upset yesterday. The dining hall in Burge had gyro day. I love gyros! I stayed away from the temptation however and stuck to a spinach salad, mashed potatoes and panko breaded tofu. The panko breaded tofu was nasty. I get tofu in my noodle bowls at the Asian Station and I love it there. However, this panko breaded tofu didn’t taste like anything. How I explained it to my roommate was that it tasted like it was trying to deceive you. Due to it try to taste like something it wasn’t.

On the other hand, it got better for dinner when I ate pasta, mixed veggies, spinach salad, and more grapes. I went over my sugar goal yesterday because I had so many grapes. I also went over my cholesterol goal because I had egg for every meal. Which I needed the protein and you can’t always make MyFitnessPal happy.

To look back on the week so far, I have no idea what was going through my head, because limiting myself to just beans or hummus in everything wasn’t the smartest idea I have ever had. To having little to no beans in day three I have no bloating or gas (thank goodness!) and as I stated earlier I feel like my best self. I may actually turn this into a new permanent lifestyle change.

Leave a Reply

